MeType

Tag: python

Magic Mirror – Face Recognition and general Update

After being absent from this blog for quite some time, I’d like to give you a quick update on my mirror project. The filesystem of my Raspberry Pi’s SD-card got corrupted some time ago and I haven’t found the motivation to reinstall the system and all my scripts since then, well at least not until two days ago. Because I had to setup the system from scratch again anyway I used the opportunity to use the newest Raspbian version “Jessie” this time and also to match my modified mirror interface code with the original from Michael Teeuw again. Some thoughts about the new Linux version: I really like the way systemd handles process managing and starting, seems a lot simpler to me than it was before but that’s not the topic today.

A few months ago I took the code from the Raspberry Pi Face Recognition Treasure Box and modified it in a way so that it’s no longer just able to recognize one valid face but to differentiate between multiple faces and therefore to know who’s standing in front of the mirror. The python script  is now constantly trying to match people to a known set of trained faces and if one is recognized displays a welcome message and personalized information for that user.

Because the number of my components and running processes keeps increasing, I sketched a quick schematic yesterday to not loose sight of who is talking to whom.
Software:Hardware magischer Spiegel

On the bottom of the software side, we have the mirrorcontroller. It is responsible for all kind of GPIO-stuff, like monitoring the motion sensor and a button. In the future it will also controls the colors of some RGB LED’s I will use for lighting up the person in front of the mirror but that’s still to be implemented. If something moves, a relay turns on the display and a signal is send to the face recognition service, which then starts to take pictures and searches them for faces. If the service recognizes a face the data is send to the SocketIOServer, which further sends it to the web interface to display the welcome message and the information for the user. Other features of the SocketIOServer are:

  • Online Banking, to show the users current bank balance
  • Collecting statistics from my Vimeo-videos
  • Investigating how much space is still left on my server
  • Detecting incoming calls via the Fritz!Box (a German internet router and phone system) call monitor
  • Pulling invoices my clients still need to pay from Invoice Ninja

In a future update I will also add gathering my ToDo’s from Wunderlist but until now that’s it.

Node.js – Python Bridge

The method I used to transfer information from my Python script over to my Node.js script by using zerorpc kind of worked but every time the scripts were running for some time they suddenly stopped transferring my data for no apparent reason. Since I wasn’t really a fan of the way I setup the connection in the first place, I didn’t bother finding a solution for my problem and directly started looking for a different way altogether and thanks to John Hobbs I found one. Searching for examples on how to use UNIX sockets I found this article  and after I left a comment on his blog, John Hobbs quickly added a socket server written for Node.js, which could then successfully communicate with my Python script.

import RPi.GPIO as GPIO
import os, os.path
import socket

GPIO.setup(27, GPIO.IN)

def node_bridge(command):
    if os.path.exists( "/tmp/python_node_bridge" ):
        client = socket.socket( socket.AF_UNIX, socket.SOCK_STREAM )
        client.connect( "/tmp/python_node_bridge" )
        client.send( command )
        client.close()
    else:
        print "Couldn't Connect!"

def switchview(27):
    node_bridge("switchview")

try:
    GPIO.add_event_detect(27, GPIO.FALLING, callback=switchview, bouncetime=600)
    while 1:
        time.sleep(100)
var io = require('socket.io').listen(1234);
var net = require('net');

var server = net.createServer(function(python_bridge) {
  python_bridge.on('data', function(data) {
    if(data.toString() == "switchview") {
      io.sockets.emit('switchview');
    }
  });
});
server.listen("/tmp/python_node_bridge");
var socket = io.connect('http://localhost:1234');
view = "view1";

function switchview() {
  if (view == "view1") {
    $('#view1').fadeOut(700);
    $('#view2').fadeIn(700);
    view = "view2"
  } else if (view == "view2") {
    $('#view2').fadeOut(700);
    $('#view1').fadeIn(700);
   view = "view1"
  }
};

socket.on('switchview', function () {
  switchview();
});

These three pieces of code switch between different views for displaying different kind of information on my mirror UI after pressing a Button.

The Python script monitors the GPIO-Pin and waits for the 3.3V to drop to 0V, it then sends a message to my Node.js script, which sends a message to the web interface where the different views are then triggered by a JavaScript function.

Python Uncertainty

Maybe one of my readers is a bit more experienced when it comes to Python – probably not that hard – and can explain to me why my first script does not work and the second one on the other hand does. Biteule and I only came as far as to suspect, that it has something to do with the threading of the GPIO-callbacks but what exactly the problem is neither of us understands. It’s not like zerorpc is not imported and available in the first script when it gets executed, after all it is able to throw an error (LostRemote: Lost remote after 10s heartbeat), so why does it make a difference where I import the module?

import RPi.GPIO as GPIO
import time
import zerorpc

nodebridge = zerorpc.Client()
nodebridge.connect("tcp://127.0.0.1:4242")

GPIO.setmode(GPIO.BCM)
GPIO.setup(27, GPIO.IN)

def switchview(switchview_taster):
    nodebridge.switchview()

try:
    GPIO.add_event_detect(27, GPIO.FALLING, callback=switchview, bouncetime=600)
    while 1:
        time.sleep(100)
import RPi.GPIO as GPIO
import time

GPIO.setmode(GPIO.BCM)
GPIO.setup(27, GPIO.IN)

def switchview(switchview_taster):
    import zerorpc
    nodebridge = zerorpc.Client()
    nodebridge.connect("tcp://127.0.0.1:4242")
    nodebridge.switchview()

try:
   GPIO.add_event_detect(27, GPIO.FALLING, callback=switchview, bouncetime=600)
   while 1:
      time.sleep(100)
var io = require('socket.io').listen(1234);
var zerorpc = require("zerorpc");

var pythonbridge = new zerorpc.Server({
  switchview: function(reply) {
    io.sockets.emit('switchview');
    reply(null);
  }
});

pythonbridge.on("error", function(error) {
  console.error("RPC server error:", error);
});

pythonbridge.bind("tcp://0.0.0.0:4242");

UPDATE 12.02.15 – 14:51:

Copyright © 2018 MeType

Theme by Anders NorenUp ↑

MeType

Schlagwort: python

Der magische Spiegel – Gesichtserkennung & allgemeines Update

Nachdem ich hier eine ganze Weile nichts mehr von mir gegeben habe, mal wieder ein kleines Update. Das Dateisystem meiner SD-Karte hat sich vor längerer Zeit mal verabschiedet und ich hatte bis vorgestern keine wirkliche Motivation dazu das System neu aufzusetzen.
Jetzt bin ich allerdings endlich mal dazu gekommen – nun auch mit der neusten Version von Raspbian: „Jessie“ und einem mit dem Original-Code wieder abgeglichenen Spiegelinterface von Michael Teeuw. Kurz zu der neuen Linux Version, ich muss sagen, mir gefällt systemd bisher echt gut, kommt mir sehr viel einfacher vor damit die Prozesse zu verwalten aber darum soll es heute nicht gehen.

Ich habe damals mal den Code von der Raspberry Pi Face Recognition Treasure Box genommen und etwas angepasst, sodass er nicht nur ein Gesicht als berechtigt oder nicht berechtigt erkennt, sondern zwischen Gesichtern unterscheiden kann und kontinuierlich nach Gesichtern sucht, statt nur nach einem Knopfdruck. Diesen veränderten Code habe ich nun auch in den Spiegel eingebaut. Er kann nun also erkennen, wer vor ihm steht, dann eine Begrüßung und Informationen für diesen speziellen Nutzer anzeigen.

Da ich inzwischen relative viele Prozesse habe, die irgendwas machen, habe ich gestern Abend mal noch ein kleines Schema aufgezeichnet, um nicht den Überblick zu verlieren, wer mit wem redet.
Software:Hardware magischer Spiegel

Auf der Software Seite habe ich ganz unten, für die Steuerung von GPIO-Sachen, den mirrorcontroller. Er schaut nach Veränderungen des Bewegungsmelders und überwacht einen Knopf. In Zukunft wird er auch noch die Farben der RGB LED Beleuchtung steuern aber die, muss ich erst noch einbauen. Bewegt sich etwas, wird das Relais des Monitors geschaltet und ein Signal an den Gesichtserkennungsprozess gegeben, welcher dann anfängt Fotos aufzunehmen und sie nach Gesichtern abzusuchen. Erkennt der Prozess ein Gesicht, gibt er dieses an den SocketIOServer weiter, welcher es wiederum an das Webinterface leitet, um dort dann eine Willkommensnachricht und personalisierte Inhalte anzuzeigen. Neben dieser Funktion kann der SocketIOServer noch Online-Banking, um den aktuellen Kontostand des Nutzers anzuzeigen, er sammelt Statistiken zu meinen Vimeo-Videos, ermittelt den vorhandenen Festplattenspeicher auf meinem Server, überwacht die Fritz!Box, um über Anrufe zu informieren und zeigt von meinen Kunden noch zu bezahlende Rechnungen an. In nächster Zeit möchte ich noch Wunderlist einbauen, damit auch meine ToDo’s angezeigt werden können.

Das ist mein aktueller Stand soweit, nachdem ich die letzten Hardwarekomponenten jetzt dann soweit fertig habe, kann es endlich auch mal an das Gehäuse gehen.

Node.js – Python Bridge

Die Methode aus dem letzten Beitrag Daten von meinem Pythonskript mit zerorpc in mein Node.js-Skript zu bekommen hat zwar im Endeffekt irgendwie funktioniert, nur gab es das Problem, dass es wenn ich die Skripte eine Weile laufen lies irgendwann aufgehört hat die Daten weiterzuleiten. Da ich sowieso nicht wirklich zufrieden mit der Methode war, habe ich gar nicht mehr nach dem Problem sondern gleich nach einer anderen Lösung gesucht, die ich dank John Hobbs jetzt auch habe. Auf der Suche nach Beispielen für UNIX Sockets habe ich diesen Artikel gefunden, nach einem Kommentar, hat er ihn gleich noch um einen Node.js-Server ergänzt, was jetzt auch ohne Probleme funktioniert.

import RPi.GPIO as GPIO
import os, os.path
import socket

GPIO.setup(27, GPIO.IN)

def node_bridge(command):
    if os.path.exists( "/tmp/python_node_bridge" ):
        client = socket.socket( socket.AF_UNIX, socket.SOCK_STREAM )
        client.connect( "/tmp/python_node_bridge" )
        client.send( command )
        client.close()
    else:
        print "Couldn't Connect!"

def switchview(27):
    node_bridge("switchview")

try:
    GPIO.add_event_detect(27, GPIO.FALLING, callback=switchview, bouncetime=600)
    while 1:
        time.sleep(100)
var io = require('socket.io').listen(1234);
var net = require('net');

var server = net.createServer(function(python_bridge) {
  python_bridge.on('data', function(data) {
    if(data.toString() == "switchview") {
      io.sockets.emit('switchview');
    }
  });
});
server.listen("/tmp/python_node_bridge");
var socket = io.connect('http://localhost:1234');
view = "view1";

function switchview() {
  if (view == "view1") {
    $('#view1').fadeOut(700);
    $('#view2').fadeIn(700);
    view = "view2"
  } else if (view == "view2") {
    $('#view2').fadeOut(700);
    $('#view1').fadeIn(700);
   view = "view1"
  }
};

socket.on('switchview', function () {
  switchview();
});

Diese drei Code-Schnippsel schalten nun nach dem Drücken eines Tasters zwischen zwei verschiedenen Ansichten hin und her, zeigen also unterschiedliche Informationen auf dem Spiegel an.
Das Pythonskript überwacht den GPIO-Pin und wartet darauf, dass die 3.3V Spannung auf 0V abfällt. Passiert das schickt es eine Nachricht an mein Node.js-Skript, welches diese an die Benutzeroberfläche weiterleitet und dort eine Funktion auslöst, die zwischen den Ansicht wechselt.

Python Unklarheit

Vielleicht hat hier ja irgendjemand ein bisschen mehr Ahnung von Python als ich – vermutlich nicht sonderlich schwer – und kann mir daher erklären, wieso das erste Skript nicht funktioniert, das Zweite hingegen schon. Biteule und ich sind nur soweit gekommen, dass es wohl irgendwas mit dem Threading der GPIO-Callbacks zu tun haben muss aber was jetzt genau das Problem ist, verstehen wir beide nicht. Es ist nicht so, dass zerorpc im ersten Skript beim Aufruf nicht vorhanden ist, immerhin kann es einen Fehler ausgeben (LostRemote: Lost remote after 10s heartbeat), wieso also macht es trotzdem einen Unterschied, an welcher Stelle ich es importiere?

import RPi.GPIO as GPIO
import time
import zerorpc

nodebridge = zerorpc.Client()
nodebridge.connect("tcp://127.0.0.1:4242")

GPIO.setmode(GPIO.BCM)
GPIO.setup(27, GPIO.IN)

def switchview(switchview_taster):
    nodebridge.switchview()

try:
    GPIO.add_event_detect(27, GPIO.FALLING, callback=switchview, bouncetime=600)
    while 1:
        time.sleep(100)
import RPi.GPIO as GPIO
import time

GPIO.setmode(GPIO.BCM)
GPIO.setup(27, GPIO.IN)

def switchview(switchview_taster):
    import zerorpc
    nodebridge = zerorpc.Client()
    nodebridge.connect("tcp://127.0.0.1:4242")
    nodebridge.switchview()

try:
   GPIO.add_event_detect(27, GPIO.FALLING, callback=switchview, bouncetime=600)
   while 1:
      time.sleep(100)
var io = require('socket.io').listen(1234);
var zerorpc = require("zerorpc");

var pythonbridge = new zerorpc.Server({
  switchview: function(reply) {
    io.sockets.emit('switchview');
    reply(null);
  }
});

pythonbridge.on("error", function(error) {
  console.error("RPC server error:", error);
});

pythonbridge.bind("tcp://0.0.0.0:4242");

UPDATE 12.02.15 – 14:51:

Copyright © 2018 MeType

Theme von Anders Norén↑ ↑